Skip to content ↓

Woodlane High School

achieving success in a nurturing environment

Text Size
A A A A
Colour
Choose Font
In this section...

Useful Links

Year 7 Websites

William the Conqueror:  www.britannia.com/history/monarchs/mon22.html

The Battle of Hastings:  http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/

The Bayeux tapestry:  http://www.sjolander.com/viking/museum/bt/bt.htm

The Norman conquest:  http://www.essentialnormanconquest.com/

The Tudors:  http://www.tudorhistory.org/

Elizabeth I:  http://www.luminarium.org/renlit/eliza.htm

 

Year 8 websites

Race relations in the US:  African American Odyssey:  http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/exhibit/aointro.html

                                             The Terrible Transformation:  http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/part1/index.html

British Empire:  History of the British Empire:  http://www.historyworld.net/wrldhis/PlainTextHistories.asp?ParagraphID=oqz

                            Colonies:  http://www.victorianweb.org/history/empire/index.html

 

Year 9 websites                                             

General information: The Royal British Legion:  www.britishlegion.org.uk

                                       The Legion and Remembrance:  www.circleofremembrance.com

                                       Imperial War Museum:  www.iwm.org.uk/edu.htm

General History Websites:   The History Channel:  www.thehistorychannel.com

                                                 History Today:  www.historytoday.com

                                                 BBC Education:  www.bbc.co.uk/education

                                                 History Central:  www.historycentral.com

                                                 www.nationalgeographic.com

First World War:     Ypres:  www.flyde.demon.co.uk/welcome.htm

                                 Western Front:  www.westernfront.co.uk

                                 BBC:  www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient

                                 Trenches on the web:  http://www.worldwar1.com/atrus.htm

                                 General:  http://www.thecorner.org/hist/wwi/alliance.htm

Second World War:  Anne Frank:  www.annefrank.com

                                    Normandy:  http://www.britannica.com/dday

                                    General:  http://atschool.eduweb.co.uk/nettsch/time/wpeople.html

                                    Holocaust:  http://www.remember.org/guide/index.html#Facts  

                                    The Battle of Britain:  http://www.battleofbritain1940.net/0001.html

                                   Second World War Chronology:  http://www.historyplace.com/worldwar2/timeline/ww2time.htm

Russia:   Stalin:  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/education/heroesvillains/g4/

               The Gulag:  http://gulaghistory.org/nps/onlineexhibit/stalin/

               Stalin/Collectivization:  http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/archives/gula.html